## Miss. Code Ann. § 73-21-91

Current with 2023 Regular Session legislation signed by the Governor and effective upon passage through March 18, 2023. The final official version of the statutes affected by 2023 legislation will appear on Lexis Advance and Lexis+ in the fall of 2023.

<u>Mississippi Code 1972 Annotated>Title 73. Professions and Vocations (Chs. 1 — 79)>Chapter 21. Pharmacists (§§ 73-21-1 — 73-21-205)>Mississippi Pharmacy Practice Act (§§ 73-21-69 — 73-21-129)</u>

§ 73-21-91. Renewal of licenses; reinstatement upon failure to renew [Repealed effective July 1, 2025].

- (1) Every pharmacist shall renew his license annually. To renew his license, a pharmacist shall:
  - (a) Submit an application for renewal on the form prescribed by the board;
  - **(b)** Submit satisfactory evidence of the completion in the last licensure period of such continuing education units as shall be required by the board, but in no case less than one (1) continuing education unit in the last licensure period;

(c)

- (i) Pay any renewal fees as required by the board, not to exceed One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00) for each annual licensing period, provided that the board may add a surcharge of not more than Five Dollars (\$5.00) to a license renewal fee to fund a program to aid impaired pharmacists or pharmacy students. Any pharmacist license renewal received postmarked after December 31 of the renewal period will be returned and a Fifty Dollar (\$50.00) late renewal fee will be assessed before renewal.
- (ii) The license fee for a pharmacy benefit manager shall be set by the board, but shall not exceed Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00). Any license renewal received postmarked after December 31 of the renewal period will be returned and a Five Hundred Dollar (\$500.00) late renewal fee will be assessed before renewal.

- (2) Any pharmacist who has defaulted in license renewal may be reinstated within two (2) years upon payment of renewal fees in arrears and presentation of evidence of the required continuing education. Any pharmacist defaulting in license renewal for a period in excess of two (2) years shall be required to successfully complete the examination given by the board pursuant to Section 73-21-85 before being eligible for reinstatement as a pharmacist in Mississippi, or shall be required to appear before the board to be examined for his competence and knowledge of the practice of pharmacy, and may be required to submit evidence of continuing education. If the person is found fit by the board to practice pharmacy in this state, the board may reinstate his license to practice pharmacy upon payment of all renewal fees in arrears.
- (3) Each application or filing made under this section shall include the social security number(s) of the applicant in accordance with Section 93-11-64.

## History

Laws, 1983, ch. 414, § 11; Laws, 1991, ch. 527, § 11; Laws, 1993, ch. 416, § 12; Laws, 1997, ch. 327, § 1; Laws, 1997, ch. 588, § 49; reenacted without change, Laws, 1998, ch. 511, § 12; reenacted without change, Laws, 2002, ch. 501, § 12; reenacted and amended, Laws, 2006, ch. 533, § 12; Laws, 2007, ch. 309, § 17; Laws, 2009, ch. 377, § 1; Laws, 2010, ch. 316, § 1; reenacted and amended, Laws, 2011, ch. 546, § 30; Laws, 2013, ch. 541, § 2; reenacted and amended, Laws, 2016, ch. 448, § 12, eff from and after July 1, 2016; reenacted without change, Laws, 2020, ch. 419, § 11, eff from and after July 1, 2020.

Mississippi Code 1972 Annotated Copyright © 2023 All rights reserved.