Miss. Code Ann. § 73-21-83

Current with 2023 Regular Session legislation signed by the Governor and effective upon passage through March 18, 2023. The final official version of the statutes affected by 2023 legislation will appear on Lexis Advance and Lexis+ in the fall of 2023.

<u>Mississippi Code 1972 Annotated > Title 73. Professions and Vocations (Chs. 1 — 79) > Chapter 21. Pharmacists (§§ 73-21-1 — 73-21-205) > Mississippi Pharmacy Practice Act (§§ 73-21-69 — 73-21-129)</u>

§ 73-21-83. Board to regulate practice of pharmacy; licensing of pharmacists; fees; persons holding license on July 1, 1991 [Repealed effective July 1, 2025].

- (1) The board shall be responsible for the control and regulation of the practice of pharmacy, to include the regulation of pharmacy externs or interns and pharmacist technicians, in this state, the regulation of the wholesaler distribution of drugs and devices as defined in Section 73-21-73, the distribution of sample drugs or devices by manufacturer's distributors as defined in Section 73-21-73 by persons other than the original manufacturer or distributor in this state and the regulation of pharmacy benefit managers as defined in Section 73-21-153.
- **(2)** A license for the practice of pharmacy shall be obtained by all persons prior to their engaging in the practice of pharmacy. However, the provisions of this chapter shall not apply to physicians, dentists, veterinarians, osteopaths or other practitioners of the healing arts who are licensed under the laws of the State of Mississippi and are authorized to dispense and administer prescription drugs in the course of their professional practice.
- (3) The initial licensure fee shall be set by the board but shall not exceed Two Hundred Dollars (\$200.00), except the initial licensure fee for pharmacy benefit managers shall be set by the board but shall not exceed Five Hundred Dollars (\$500.00).
- **(4)** All students actively enrolled in a professional school of pharmacy accredited by the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education who are making satisfactory progress toward graduation and who act as an extern or intern under the direct supervision of a pharmacist in a location permitted by the Board of Pharmacy must obtain a pharmacy

student registration prior to engaging in such activity. The student registration fee shall be set by the board but shall not exceed One Hundred Dollars (\$100.00).

(5) All persons licensed to practice pharmacy prior to July 1, 1991, by the State Board of Pharmacy under Section 73-21-89 shall continue to be licensed under the provisions of Section 73-21-91.

History

Laws, 1983, ch. 414, \S 7; Laws, 1991, ch. 527, \S 7; Laws, 1993, ch. 416, \S 8; Laws, 1994, ch. 513, \S 2; Laws, 1997, ch. 441, \S 1; reenacted without change, Laws, 1998, ch. 511, \S 8; reenacted without change, Laws, 2002, ch. 501, \S 8; reenacted without change, Laws, 2006, ch. 533, \S 8; reenacted and amended, Laws, 2011, ch. 546, \S 29; Laws, 2013, ch. 541, \S 1; reenacted and amended, Laws, 2016, ch. 448, \S 8, eff from and after July 1, 2016; reenacted without change, Laws, 2020, ch. 419, \S 7, eff from and after July 1, 2020.

Mississippi Code 1972 Annotated Copyright © 2023 All rights reserved.