Miss. Code Ann. § 73-21-103

Current with 2023 Regular Session legislation signed by the Governor and effective upon
passage through March 18, 2023. The final official version of the statutes affected by 2023
legislation will appear on Lexis Advance and Lexis+ in the fall of 2023.

Mississippi Code 1972 Annotated>Title 73. Professions and Vocations (Chs. 1 — 79)>Chapter 21. Pharmacists
73-21-1 — 73-21-205)>Mississippi Pharmacy Practice Act (§§ 73-21-69 — 73-21-129)

§ 73-21-103. Penalties for violations; requirement of rehabilitation or additional
education; reinstatement of licenses or permits; enforcement proceedings
[Repealed effective July 1, 2025].

(1) Upon the finding of the existence of grounds for action against any permitted facility or
discipline of any person holding a license, registration or permit, seeking a license,
registration or permit, seeking to renew a license or permit under the provisions of this
chapter, or practicing or doing business without a license, registration or permit, the board

may impose one or more of the following penalties:

(a) Suspension of the offender’s license, registration and/or permit for a term to be

determined by the board;
(b) Revocation of the offender’s license, registration and/or permit;

(c) Restriction of the offender’s license, registration and/or permit to prohibit the
offender from performing certain acts or from engaging in the practice of pharmacy

in a particular manner for a term to be determined by the board;
(d) Imposition of a monetary penalty as follows:

(i) For the first violation, a monetary penalty of not less than Two Hundred
Fifty Dollars ($250.00) nor more than One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) for

each violation;

(ii) For the second violation and subsequent violations, a monetary penalty
of not less than Five Hundred Dollars ($500.00) nor more than Five

Thousand Dollars ($5,000.00) for each violation.
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Money collected by the board under paragraph (d)(i), (ii) and (iv) of this
section shall be deposited to the credit of the State General Fund of the State

Treasury;

(iii) The board may assess a monetary penalty for those reasonable costs
that are expended by the board in the investigation and conduct of a
proceeding for licensure revocation, suspension or restriction, including, but
not limited to, the cost of process service, court reporters, expert witnesses

and investigators.

Money collected by the board under paragraph (d)(iii) of this section, shall be
deposited to the credit of the Special Fund of the Pharmacy Board;

(iv) The board may impose a monetary penalty for those
facilities/businesses registered with the Pharmacy Board as
wholesalers/manufacturers of not less than Three Hundred Dollars
($300.00) per violation and not more than Fifty Thousand Dollars
($50,000.00) per violation;

(v) The board may impose a monetary penalty for any dispenser, pharmacist
or practitioner licensed to dispense controlled substance and specified
noncontrolled substance drugs, who knowingly fails to submit drug
monitoring information or knowingly submits incorrect dispensing
information of not more than Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00) per
violation. Any penalty collected under this paragraph (v) shall be deposited
into the special fund of the State Pharmacy Board to support the operations

of the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP);

(vi) The board may impose a monetary penalty for any person who obtains
prescription information and who knowingly discloses this information for
misuse or purposely alters the reporting information, or uses the PMP in any
manner other than for which it was intended, of not more than Fifty
Thousand Dollars ($50,000.00) per violation. Any penalty collected under
this paragraph (vi) shall be deposited into the special fund of the State Board



of Pharmacy and used to support the operations of the Prescription

Monitoring Program;

(vii) The board may impose a monetary penalty of not more than One
Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) per day upon any person or business that
practices or does business without the license, registration or permit

required by this chapter.
(e) Refusal to renew offender’s license, registration and /or permit;

(f) Placement of the offender on probation and supervision by the board for a

period to be determined by the board;
(g) Public or private reprimand.

Whenever the board imposes any penalty under this subsection, the board may
require rehabilitation and/or additional education as the board may deem proper

under the circumstances, in addition to the penalty imposed.

(2) Any person whose license, registration and/or permit has been suspended, revoked or
restricted pursuant to this chapter, whether voluntarily or by action of the board, shall have
the right to petition the board at reasonable intervals for reinstatement of such license,
registration and/or permit. Such petition shall be made in writing and in the form
prescribed by the board. Upon investigation and hearing, the board may, in its discretion,
grant or deny such petition, or it may modify its original finding to reflect any
circumstances which have changed sufficiently to warrant such modifications. The
procedure for the reinstatement of a license, registration or permit that is suspended for
being out of compliance with an order for support, as defined in Section 93-11-153, shall be

governed by Section 93-11-157 or 93-11-163, as the case may be.

(3) Nothing herein shall be construed as barring criminal prosecutions for violation of this
chapter where such violations are deemed as criminal offenses in other statutes of this

state or of the United States.

(4) A monetary penalty assessed and levied under this section shall be paid to the board by

the licensee, registrant or permit holder upon the expiration of the period allowed for



appeal of such penalties under Section 73-21-101, or may be paid sooner if the licensee,

registrant or permit holder elects.

(5) When payment of a monetary penalty assessed and levied by the board against a
licensee, registrant or permit holder in accordance with this section is not paid by the
licensee, registrant or permit holder when due under this section, the board shall have the
power to institute and maintain proceedings in its name for enforcement of payment in the
chancery court of the county and judicial district of residence of the licensee, registrant or
permit holder, or if the licensee, registrant or permit holder is a nonresident of the State of
Mississippi, in the Chancery Court of the First Judicial District of Hinds County, Mississippi.
When such proceedings are instituted, the board shall certify the record of its proceedings,
together with all documents and evidence, to the chancery court and the matter shall
thereupon be heard in due course by the court, which shall review the record and make its
determination thereon. The hearing on the matter may, in the discretion of the chancellor,

be tried in vacation.

(6) The board shall develop and implement a uniform penalty policy which shall set the
minimum and maximum penalty for any given violation of board regulations and laws
governing the practice of pharmacy. The board shall adhere to its uniform penalty policy
except in such cases where the board specifically finds, by majority vote, that a penalty in
excess of, or less than, the uniform penalty is appropriate. Such vote shall be reflected in the
minutes of the board and shall not be imposed unless such appears as having been adopted

by the board.
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