## ARTICLE XVI REGISTRATION WITH THE BOARD TO HANDLE CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

- 1. Every facility/business under the jurisdiction of the Board of Pharmacy where controlled substances are manufactured, distributed, sold, bought, dispensed, or maintained within this state or that distributes or dispenses any controlled substance into this state from an out-of-state location, or who proposes to engage in the manufacture, distribution or dispensing of any controlled substance within this state or the distribution or dispensing of any controlled substance into this state from an out-of-state location, except those persons exempted by law, shall obtain and maintain a Controlled Substance Registration issued to that facility/business by the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy. Every pharmacist or pharmacy extern/intern who dispenses controlled substances in the usual and lawful course of business within this state shall obtain and maintain a controlled substance registration issued by the Board.
- 2. These registrations shall be renewed annually and shall be valid for the following period of time: If the registration is issued before or during the first half of the registration period, the registration shall expire at the end of the registration period and if the registration is issued in the second half of the registration period, the registration shall expire at the end of the succeeding registration period. A fee of fifty dollars (\$50.00) shall be charged for this registration or the renewal of this registration.

Extern or intern registrations shall be valid for a period of four (4) years or until six months after graduation.

Any controlled substance renewal application postmarked after December 31 of the renewal period shall be returned and a fifty dollar (\$50.00) late renewal fee shall be assessed prior to renewal.

- 3. Application for issuance or renewal of a Controlled Substance Registration shall be made on a form prescribed by the Board which specifies the activities to be engaged in and the Schedules of Controlled Substances which may be manufactured, distributed, dispensed, sold, purchased, or maintained by the registrant. A registrant shall not manufacture, distribute, dispense, sell, purchase, or maintain a controlled substance not authorized by his registration.
- 4. The application for the issuance or the renewal of a Controlled Substance Registration for a pharmacy shall be signed by a pharmacist. If the services of a pharmacist are not required at the facility the application for the Controlled Substance Registration shall be signed by the individual who will be responsible for conducting the business activities of the facility.
- 5. Persons who handle controlled substances or who maintain controlled substances on the premises must be registered. This includes all facilities which do not maintain dispensing areas containing controlled substance drugs, but which do maintain controlled substances for inpatient use at nursing stations or in emergency medication supplies.

- 6. The administrator or the consultant pharmacist of the nursing home may sign the application for a controlled substance registration issued by the Board. The nursing home shall have policies and procedures for the security, control, and disposal of any controlled substances at the facility. A pharmacist shall not serve as a consultant to a nursing home which does not have a Controlled Substance Registration with the Mississippi Board of Pharmacy.
- 7. When requested by an agent of the Board of Pharmacy, evidence of a Controlled Substance Registration issued by the Board, all controlled substances, all areas where controlled substances are maintained, and all required controlled substance records shall be made available for inspection.